Washburn golfer Trey Siegel named MIAA Freshman of the Year

[lin_video src=http://eplayer.clipsyndicate.com/embed/player.js?div_id=videoplayer-1366760373&height=510&page_count=5&pf_id=9622&va_id=4029458&width=480&windows=2 service=syndicaster width=480 height=510 div_id=videoplayer-1366760373 type=script]

COURTESY: Washburn Sports Information

SMITHVILLE, Mo. — The final day of the MIAA Golf Championships at Paradise Golf Course in Smithville, Mo., has been washed out because of the wintery mix in the area. The results from the first two rounds yesterday will now become the final rankings as the Ichabods finish fourth at the tournament. The Ichabods will now wait for their NCAA postseason fate as postseason regional berths are scheduled to be announced later this week. The Ichabods came into the MIAA Tournament ranked third in the latest Central Regional rankings behind Central Oklahoma and Southwestern Oklahoma.l

Trey Siegel led the Ichabods with a 2-over 146 placing him in eighth place after a pair of 1-over 73s. Ronnie McHenry tied for 17th after rounds of 74 and 75 for a 5-over 149.

Max Lazzo tied for 24th after carding an even-par 72 followed by a 7-over 79 for for a two-round total of 151.

Brian Walker and Nathan Hoefflin tied for 28th after turning in a scorecard of 10-over 152. Walker had a 78 and 74 while Hoefflin had reverse scores of 74 and 78.

Central Oklahoma had the top three golfers as Dillon Rust fired a 7-under 137 and Trevor Stafford and fellow Broncho Logan Waresback all had a 2-under 142.

The Bronchos led everyone after a 8-under 568 team score. Central Missouri had a team score of 10-over 586. Lindenwood finished third with a team score of 15-over 501 while the Ichabods finished two shots back with a 17-over 593.

At the end of the tournament, the MIAA announced its all-conference teams at Washburn’s Trey Siegel was named to the all-MIAA team as well as the MIAA’s Freshman of the Year. Joining Siegel on the all-MIAA team from Washburn is Sam Schulte.

Men’s All-MIAA Team
(Determined by points accumulated through four designated conference events including conference championship)

Dillon Rust, Central Oklahoma *MIAA PLAYER OF THE YEAR*  (49.0)

Trevor Stafford, Central Oklahoma                        (45.5)

Trey Siegel, Washburn *FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR*             (42.5)

Robby Hughey, Central Missouri                           (26.0)

Kyle Fouts, Northeastern State                           (25.0)
Cy Moritz, Central Missouri                              (22.167)

Travis Mays, Central Missouri                            (20.0)

Kris Koelzer, Nebraska-Kearney                           (20.0)

Sam Migdal, Central Missouri                             (19.5)

Logan Waresback, Central Oklahoma                        (17.5)

Erik Isaccson, Lindenwood                                (15.667)

Sam Schulte, Washburn                                    (15.0)

Ryan Buerk, Missouri Southern                            (14.667)

Oscar Isaccson, Lindenwood                               (14.667)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s