Somber ceremony honors fallen law enforcement officers

[lin_video src= service=syndicaster width=480 height=510 div_id=videoplayer-1367715432 type=script]

A ceremony at the statehouse today honored the 269 law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty.

Two new names were officially added Friday,  Topeka police officers Jeff Atherly and David Gogian.
The two were shot and killed December 16, 2012, in a central Topeka grocery store parking lot responding to a call of a suspicious vehicle.

Officers from across the state were at Friday’s ceremony.  Governor Sam Brownback said the names of fallen will be forever engraved on the hearts of Kansans.

“As we thank them for that ultimate sacrifice of what they’ve done.  We also thank those who continue to stand in the thin blue line for the rest of our lives,” Brownback said.

After the ceremony, Gov. Brownback and Attorney General Derek Schmidt laid a wreath at the law enforcement memorial on the northeast corner of the statehouse grounds.

Later this month,  Gogian and Atherly’s names will be enshrined at the National Law Enforcement Memorial in Washington, D.C.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s