[lin_video src=http://eplayer.clipsyndicate.com/embed/player.js?div_id=videoplayer-1372477832&height=510&page_count=5&pf_id=9969&va_id=4121953&width=480&windows=2 service=syndicaster width=480 height=510 div_id=videoplayer-1372477832 type=script]
Many parents may worry about other kids bullying their children at school.
But what about bullying from their own teacher?
It happened to a 10 year old Shawnee boy….and his story is making changes in state law.
Loren Wendelburg was in elementary school when he was bullied by his 5th grade teacher.
“She would grab me by the wrists and she would pull me into the hall and she would yell and scream at me. And she said I would never amount to anything,” Loren said.
He was 10 at the time – the now 15 year old says he was the only one is class this was happening to.
“And I thought I was doing something really wrong to make her target me. And for several days I felt really lonely and depressed. i didn’t want to go to school anymore,” Loren said.
Loren says he he didn’t tell anyone.
“I was just sitting in my desk, doing my schoolwork and then out of the blue she would just come over and saying I was being disruptive when when I really wasn’t doing anything at all,” Loren said.
It wasn’t until another student told their parents….who then said something to Loren’s mom.
Loren’s mom says they went to the school district – but she says it didn’t believe her son’s story.
And – state anti-bullying laws at the time only included students against students….not from teachers.
“There is nothing on the books that say a teacher cannot bully or abuse a student in Kansas. so, I was shocked by that. So, a teacher can actually be on the SRS list for child abuse and cannot lose their teacher license in Kansas. So, I felt like a good place to start was at least have it in the anti-bullying law that teachers cannot bully students,” Loren’s mom Lisa said.
The family pushed to add school personnel to the state anti-bullying law.
Loren and his mom joined Governor Sam Brownback Friday afternoon for a ceremonial signing of the law.
Now, just days before “Loren’s Law” goes into effect…the teenager says his past pain….will now help to protect other kids.
“Telling my story and getting through to them so this will never happen again in Kansas,” Loren said.
“Loren’s Law” – adding school personnel to the state’s anti-bullying law, goes into effect on Monday.
After the abuse, Loren’s family pulled him out of the school.
SRS found the teen was abused by his teacher.
As for the accused teacher, his mom says that person still works in that school district.