Poster contest aims to ‘Put the Brakes’ on fatalities

Kids ages 5 to 13 in Kansas are encouraged to enter artwork for a statewide poster contest focusing on Put the Brakes on Fatalities Day – a nationwide effort to increase roadway safety and reduce all traffic fatalities.

Three statewide winners will receive family packages at the Great Wolf Lodge and also $50 gas cards from QuikTrip Corporation.

A total of 18 regional winners in the six regions and age groups (ages 5-7, ages 8-10 and ages 11-13) will each receive a bicycle and a helmet donated by Safe Kids Kansas.

All entries must be postmarked by Friday, Sept. 20, and should be mailed to: AAA Kansas, Public Affairs, 3545 SW 6th Street, Topeka, KS, 66606. On the back of the 8 ½ by 11-inch paper entry must be the child’s full name; age at time of entry; mailing address; county; a parent’s name; and contact phone number. For more information on the contest and the national safety campaign, go to KDOT’s Internet main website page at

Below are the names of Kansas kids who have won the contest in the past three years:

2012 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas – Cresinda Bandel, Oskaloosa; Addison Mae Gehrt

Westmoreland; Jacque Stroud, Topeka.

North Central Kansas – Kady Toote, Washington; Leah Feldman, Gypsum; Eleanor Wiles, Gypsum.

Northwest Kansas – Hayden Gottstine, Logan; Haylee Tien, Logan.

Southeast Kansas – Kasey Paige Smith, Cherryvale; Anna Ecoff, Parsons; Riley Brown, Humboldt.

South Central Kansas – Von Woleslagel, Hutchinson; Lauren Mason, Benton; Heather Woleslagel, Hutchinson.

Southwest Kansas – Serra Clarke, Jetmore; Carson Linenberger, Garden City; Clara Jackson, Garden City.


2011 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast KansasSierra de Koning, Axtell; Reagan de Koning, Axtell; Neeharika Kothapalli, Overland Park.

North Central KansasElijah Schmidt, Junction City; Breckyn Martens, McPherson; Zoey Rankin, Ottawa.

Northwest KansasAaron Moore, Oakley; Indigo Guise, WaKeeney; Donnovan Schroeder, Herndon.

Southeast KansasAbigail Balson, Coffeyville; Macie Ables, Fredonia; Nathan Cunningham, Iola.

South Central KansasHeath David Moeckel, Plevna; Britton Maclaughlin, Arkansas City; Jack Kelly Lynch, Wichita.

Southwest KansasEmmi Lott, Rolla; Emily Allen, Garden City; John Dohogne, Garden City.


2010 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas – Corissa Bandel, Oskaloosa; Youna Song, Manhattan; Ashley Grimm, Morrill.

North Central Kansas – Makayla Sanderson, Courtland; Breckyn Martens, McPherson; Dylan Hollerich, Tipton.

Northwest Kansas – Jailey Gallentine, Gove; Reanna Harman, Hays; Morgan Kathleen Beougher, Stockton.

Southeast Kansas – Abigail Balson, Coffeyville; Riley Brown, Humboldt; Madi McDonald, Chanute.

South Central Kansas – Calli Hatfield, Wellington; Taya Wilson, Sterling; Morgan Friesen, Andover.

Southwest Kansas – Monserrat Acosta, Dodge City; Grace Lang, Fowler; Ana Maria Chairez-Almeda, Garden City.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s