GOP dominates Kan. panel on ‘Hard 50’ law rewrite

Kansas Capital
Kansas Capital

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Republicans will dominate the Kansas Legislature’s new joint committee examining the state’s “Hard 50” criminal sentencing law, in keeping with GOP majorities in both chambers.

The panel’s chairman is House Judiciary Committee Chairman Lance Kinzer.

The members are:

— Senate Republicans (5): Majority Leader Terry Bruce, Hutchinson; Jeff King, Independence, Senate vice president and Judiciary Committee chairman; Forrest Knox, Altoona; Julia Lynn, Olathe, and Greg Smith, Overland Park.

— Senate Democrats (1): David Haley, Kansas City, ranking party member on the Judiciary Committee.

— House Republicans (6): Kinzer, Olathe; John Rubin, Shawnee, Corrections and Juvenile Justice Committee chairman; John Barker, Abilene; Ed Bideau, Chanute; Mark Kahrs, Wichita, and Charles Macheers, Shawnee.

— House Democrats (2): Jan Pauls, Hutchinson, ranking party member on the Judiciary Committee, and Emily Perry, Mission.

blog comments powered by Disqus