Indiana U. to give top award to Jones, 2 others

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. (AP) — Indiana University is giving its highest alumni award to soul musician Booker T. Jones and former U.S. Secretary of Education Roderick Paige.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley Schlanger Abrahamson also will receive IU’s Distinguished Alumni Service Award during a November ceremony.

Jones is a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee who earned a bachelor’s degree in music education in 1967. Booker T. and the MGs’ had a hit recording with “Green Onions.”

Paige was education secretary under former President George W. Bush. Abrahamson is the longest-serving justice ever on the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

The Distinguished Alumni Service Award recipients were chosen for service and achievement in their fields and significant contributions to society. The university announced the selections last week.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s