Kansas Teacher of the Year Region 2 finalists announced

teachers of the year

[lin_video src=http://eplayer.clipsyndicate.com/embed/player.js?aspect_ratio=16×9&auto_next=1&auto_start=1&div_id=videoplayer-1378744695&height=480&page_count=5&pf_id=9622&show_title=1&va_id=4304329&width=640&windows=1 service=syndicaster width=640 height=480 div_id=videoplayer-1378744695 type=script]

TOPEKA, KS — 32 teachers were recognized for hard work Sunday. The Kansas State Department of Education named two of those teachers finalists for the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year Award.

The Region 2 winners, Jenny Nash from Paola and Jeff Baxter from Leavenworth. Both are now in the running to be named the Kansas Teacher of the Year in Wichita in November.

“We want to honor the profession of teaching. and there are some outstanding educators in the State of Kansas and so as a continuation of tradition Kansas recognizes excellence in the form of classroom teachers,” said Stacey Bell, Kansas Teacher of the Year chairperson.

The two winners each got a $2,000 cash reward. The 2014 Teacher of the Year will be announced November 23.

blog comments powered by Disqus