Emporia State women win second straight MIAA Championship

Kansas City, Mo. – The Emporia State Lady Hornets picked up their second MIAA Tournament Championship with a 75-71 victory over Central Missouri. The Lady Hornets used a strong first half and held on to earn the MIAA’s automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament.

Central Missouri would jump out first using an early 6-0 run to jump ahead, but ESU would answer with an 18-5 run later in the first half as they took a 38-29 lead into the break. In the second half UCM would chip away at the lead eventually tieing the game at 71-71 with 1:19 to play. Tournament Most Outstanding Player Merissa Quick would score the final four points of the game to secure the victory for ESU.

For the Lady Hornets Quick led the way scoring 18 points on her way to becoming the first player to be named the Tournament’s Most Outstanding Player in back to back seasons. Kelly Moten scored 17 points, had five steals and also pulled down five rebounds while Merissa Quick added 11 points. For the Jennies Revonnia Howard had a double-double scoring 14 points and pulling down 15 rebounds. Shelby Winkelmann added 16 points and Keuna Flax finished the game with 15 points.

The Lady Hornets earn the conferences automatic bid into the NCAA Division II Tournament and will play in next week’s Central Regional. All other MIAA teams will await their fate on tonight’s selection show scheduled for 9 p.m. CST at ncaa.com.

All-Tournament Team
Merissa Quick, Emporia State (Most Outstanding Player)
Kelly Moten, Emporia State
Keuna Flax, Central Missouri
Shelby Winkelmann, Central Missouri
Jacqui Zelenka, Southwest Baptist

Notes: Emporia State wins back to back titles and become the seventh #2 seed to win the tournament…Jory Collins coaching in just his fourth MIAA Tournament now has a career record of 10-2 advancing to the finals in all four seasons and claiming two titles…Four Freshman have been named to the All-Tournament team since 2003, all coming from Emporia State Casey Henningsen in 2004, Michelle Stueve in 2005, Kelsey Balcom in 2011 and Moten this season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s