NASCAR’s Scott, Elliott elected to Hall of Fame

Pictures of the five inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame class of 2015 are displayed, from left, Bill Elliott, Wendell Scott, Joe Weatherly, Rex White, and Fred Lorenzen, during an announcement in Charlotte, N.C., Wednesday, May 21, 2014. (AP Photo/Terry Renna)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) — Wendell Scott has been elected to the NASCAR Hall of Fame as voters honored the sport’s first black driver to win a race in what’s now the Sprint Cup series.

Also honored Wednesday were one of NASCAR’s most popular champions, Bill Elliott, along with two-time series champ Joe Weatherly, 1960 champion Rex White and 26-time race winner Fred Lorenzen.

Scott competed in NASCAR’s top series from 1961-73. He won his only race at Speedway Park in Jacksonville, Florida, in 1963, winning the 100-mile feature after starting 15th. Scott started 495 Sprint Cup events and had a 147 top 10 finishes.

Elliott was the 1988 Sprint Cup champion and his 44 race victories rank 16th in NASCAR history.

Series matriarch Anne Bledsoe France was honored with the inaugural Landmark Award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s