Jeff Gordon makes history at Indy

Jeff Gordon

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – Jeff Gordon won the first Brickyard 400 in 1994. He’s now a record-breaking five-time winner in the Sprint Cup race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Gordon grabbed the lead from Kasey Kahne during a re-start with 17 laps to go and pulled way for the victory.

Kyle Busch finished a distance second, followed by Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth and Joey Logano.

The win moves Gordon into a tie with Michael Schumacher, whose five Formula One victories at Indy had been the gold standard.

The victory also adds to Gordon’s lead in the NASCAR Sprint Cup points standings.

blog comments powered by Disqus