Kansas State restricts travel to African countries

MANHATTAN, Kan. (AP) — Kansas State University is restricting travel of university-sponsored students, faculty and staff to several African countries affected by the Ebola virus.

The university said in a letter Wednesday to the Kansas State community that it will deny university-sponsored travel to Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, which have been placed on a federal travel alert list. Travel requests to nearby Nigeria and the Congo will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

The university also said that anyone who has traveled to those countries in the last four weeks needs to be screened at the Lafene Health Center on the Manhattan campus.

The Manhattan Mercury reports that as of Wednesday, 16 people who were screened were found to be not at risk of contracting Ebola.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s