3 Kansas counties denying same-sex marriage licenses

EL DORADO, Kan. (AP) — Three south-central Kansas counties are denying applications for marriage licenses from same-sex couples.

Chief District Court Judge David Ricke said in a statement Monday that Butler, Elk and Greenwood counties will keep complying with a ban on gay marriage in Kansas law and the state constitution.

The counties make up the 13th Judicial District. Ricke says the district will continue to deny marriage licenses to same-sex couples until he is convinced it falls under a binding court order that “clearly and unequivocally” requires its district court clerks to issue them.

The U.S. Supreme Court refused last week to allow the state to keep enforcing its ban while a federal lawsuit proceeds. The lawsuit was filed over the refusal of Douglas and Sedgwick counties to issue same-sex marriage licenses.

Meanwhile, district court clerks in two north-central Kansas counties are accepting applications for marriage licenses from same-sex couples but not approving them.

Court Administrator Todd Heitschmidt said Monday that Chief District Judge Jerome Hellmer has directed that no action be taken on such applications in Ottawa and Saline counties until the Kansas Supreme Court decides whether gay marriages can go forward.

Ottawa and Saline counties make up the 28th Judicial District. Heitschmidt said Saline county received four applications last week from same-sex couples.



Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s