Oregon’s Marcus Mariota wins Heisman Trophy

NEW YORK (AP) – Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota (mar-ee-OH’-tah) has come away with the Heisman Trophy as college football’s top player, beating out Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and Alabama receiver Amari Cooper.

Mariota is the first Ducks player to won the trophy. He set a Pac-12 mark this season with 53 total touchdowns, including a school-record 38 via pass, 14 keepers and one TD reception. Mariota has helped Oregon to a 12-1 record and a shot at defending national champ Florida State in the Rose Bowl as part of the College Football Playoff.

He received the second-highest percentage of possible points in Heisman history, topped only by Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith in 2006.

Mariota had already captured the Walter Camp National Player of the Year Award, the Maxwell Award as college player of the year, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

Gordon claimed the Doak Walter Award as the nation’s top running back after setting a Big Ten single-season record with 2,336 rushing yards and scoring 29 touchdowns.

Cooper had 1,656 receiving yards and 14 touchdowns while setting a Southeastern Conference record with 115 receptions. That helped him claim the Fred Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s outstanding receiver.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s