Banker and small business owner named to Saline Co. Commission seats

(KSNT File Photo)

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) – Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback has named a banker and small-business owner to two, newly created seats on the Saline County Commission.

Brownback on Thursday announced the appointments of Luci Larson and David Smith to the north-central Kansas county’s county board. Both are from Salina and take office Jan. 12.

Saline County voters in November approved expanding the commission from three to five members. Under Kansas law, the current commissioners were required to draw new districts within a month, and the governor was required to fill the seats. The new commissioners will stand for election in 2016.

Larson is a travel agency owner who served on the Salina City Commission and as the city’s mayor in 2009 and 2010. Smith has been a banker and real estate appraiser since 1972.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s