All counties in Kansas allowing same-sex marriage licenses

(File Photo)

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Same-sex couples can get marriage licenses in all 105 Kansas counties.

But the state on Tuesday wasn’t yet allowing gay and lesbian spouses to change their last names on driver’s licenses or file joint income tax returns.

Several officials said Gov. Sam Brownback’s administration is still studying the U.S. Supreme Court ruling that declared same-sex marriage legal across the nation.

The Republican governor supports Kansas’ ban on gay marriage. He has noted repeatedly that voters in 2005 overwhelmingly approved an amendment to the state constitution to reinforce it.

Before the latest U.S. Supreme Court ruling, same-sex marriage licenses were being issued in 21 of 31 judicial districts covering 61 counties.

As of Tuesday, all 31 districts said they were issuing same-sex marriage licenses or were prepared to do so.




Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s