2016 Kansas Horizon Award Program recognizes 32 educators

TOPEKA (KSNT) – The Kansas State Department of Education announced the recipients of the 2016 Kansas Horizon Award on Tuesday and Wednesday, which recognizes exemplary first-year educators.

The Kansas Horizon Award program, which is sponsored by KSDE, allows all school districts in the state the opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award.

To be eligible for the award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each region.

Recipients of the 2016 Kansas Horizon Award were notified of their selection by Commissioner of Education Randy Watson. “I want to extend my congratulations to these outstanding teachers,” Watson said. “The recipients of the Kansas Horizon Award are outstanding first-year educators who have excelled in helping all students toward reaching their potential. I am very happy these quality teachers are in Kansas classrooms. I want to thank each award recipient for their time, talents and dedication to the profession.”

2016 Kansas Horizon Award Recipients:

Region 1

  • Karisa Cowan, Hoisington Middle School, USD 431 Hoisington
  • Manuel Espinoza, Walnut Elementary School, USD 253 Emporia
  • Aspen Frey, Lincoln Elementary School, USD 418 McPherson
  • Amalea Peters, Clay Center Middle School, USD 379 Clay Center
  • Alissa Miller, Emporia Middle School, USD 253 Emporia
  • Andrew Potts, Kenneth Henderson Middle School, USD 457 Garden City
  • Allie Ronnebaum, Fort Riley Middle School, USD 475 Geary County
  • Chelsea Willems, Ware Elementary School, USD 475 Geary County

Region 2

  • Barbara Atkins, Robinson Middle School, USD 501 Topeka
  • Jordan Boyd, Lawrence Free State High School, USD 497 Lawrence
  • Frances Caudill, Schwegler Elementary School, USD 497 Lawrence
  • Kara Douglas, Glenwood Ridge Elementary School, USD 458 Basehor-Linwood
  • Madison Hunter, Galesburg Middle School, USD 101 Erie-Galesburg
  • Sarah Johnson, Baldwin Junior High School, USD 348 Baldwin
  • Lara McDonald, Washburn Rural Middle School, USD 437 Auburn-Washburn
  • Samantha McHenry, Shawnee Heights Elementary School, USD 450 Shawnee Heights

Region 3

  • Lauren Brown, Heatherstone Elementary School, USD 233 Olathe
  • Jocelyn Cummings, Mission Trail Middle School, USD 233 Olathe
  • Stefanie Hagemann, Prairie Star Elementary School, USD 229 Blue Valley
  • Andrew Hulse, Blue Valley High School, USD 229 Blue Valley
  • Brett Mach, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, USD 512 Shawnee Mission
  • Hannah Ozier, Wolf Creek Elementary School, USD 230 Spring Hill
  • Katie Sutton, Oak Park-Carpenter Elementary School, USD 512 Shawnee Mission
  • Taylore Weitner, Mill Creek Middle School, USD 232 De Soto

Region 4

  • Daniel Heath, Derby North Middle School, USD 260 Derby
  • Molly Kretzer, Andale High School, USD 267 Renwick
  • Tiffany Lippoldt, Skelly Elementary School, USD 490 El Dorado
  • Kelly McMains, Prairie Creek Elementary School, USD 385 Andover
  • Andrea Pope, Griffith Elementary School, USD 259 Wichita
  • Kaitlyn Salazar, Hamilton Middle School, USD 259 Wichita
  • Jenny Waugh, Circle Oil Hill Elementary School, USD 375 Circle
  • Eric Weinbrenner, Complete High School Maize, USD 266 Maize

As recipients of the Kansas Horizon Award, these educators are invited to KEEN, a network of educators from around the state who have been formally recognized for exemplary performance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s