Three Royals named finalists for 2016 Gold Glove awards

Kansas City Royals' Eric Hosmer (35) congratulates teammate Salvador Perez (13) after his three-run home run during the fifth inning of a baseball game against the Cleveland Indians at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City, Mo., Wednesday, June 15, 2016. (AP Photo/Orlin Wagner)

Courtesy: Kansas City Royals

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., a subsidiary of Newell Brands, announced today that three Kansas City Royals – left fielder Alex Gordon, first baseman Eric Hosmer and catcher Salvador Perez – have been named finalists for 2016 American League Gold Glove Awards ®. The Royals’ three finalists have combined to win 10 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards in their careers, with Gordon winning four-straight, from 2011-14 while Hosmer and Perez have won each of the last three seasons (2013-15).

Rawlings also announced that winners will be revealed on Tuesday, November 8 at 7 p.m. CT, during a special edition of “Baseball Tonight – The 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Announcement Show”, which will air on ESPN. The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards honor the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League and National League, as voted by Major League managers and coaches.
Kansas City’s three finalists are tied for second-most in the Major Leagues, behind only Detroit’s four. Along with the Royals, five other clubs have three finalists this season ¬– Arizona, Boston, Chicago Cubs, Houston and San Francisco.

Gordon is attempting to win his fifth Gold Glove Award (2011-14) and become the second Royal to be honored five times or more, joining second baseman Frank White (eight times, 1977-82, 86-87). The last outfielder to win at least five awards in a six-year span in either league was Torii Hunter, who won nine-straight from 2001-09. The other left field finalists for this season are Houston’s Colby Rasmus and Brett Gardner of the New York Yankees.

Hosmer is seeking his fourth-straight Gold Glove Award, looking to become the first AL first baseman to accomplish that since Don Mattingly (1991-94). He is the only Royal to win a Gold Glove at first base. Other nominations at first base include: Baltimore’s Chris Davis and Texas’ Mitch Moreland.

Perez is also up for his fourth-straight Gold Glove Award, while he is the second KC backstop to earn the honor, along with Bob Boone (1989). Should he win, Perez would become the first AL catcher to win as many as four-straight Gold Gloves since Ivan ‘Pudge’ Rodriguez was honored 10-straight years (1992-2001). Other 2016 finalists include: Carlos Perez of the Los Angeles Angels and Detroit’s James McCann.

Following the ESPN announcement telecast, voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award presented by SABR, will begin at, allowing the general public to weigh in as to who is the “Finest in the Field” in both leagues. Fans can vote for one player among the 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each league. A combination of the international vote and the SABR Defensive Index will determine who takes home the honor of each league’s top defensive player. The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners will be unveiled during the 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Ceremony presented by Gold Sport Collectibles on Friday, November 11. Gordon was the 2014 American League Platinum Glove Award winner.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s