Mike Trout, Kris Bryant win baseball’s MVP awards

FILE - In this Sept. 3, 2016, file photo, Los Angeles Angels' Mike Trout is congratulated by teammates after hitting a solo home run off Seattle Mariners starter Taijuan Walker during the first inning of a baseball game, in Seattle. Trout, Mookie Betts and Jose Altuve are the finalists for the American League Most Valuable Player award.(AP Photo/Stephen Brashear, File)

CHICAGO (AP) – Los Angeles Angels center fielder Mike Trout is the AL MVP winner for the second time in three years, and Chicago Cubs slugger Kris Bryant has been voted NL MVP.

Bryant hit .292 with 39 homers and 102 RBIs in just his second year in the majors, helping the Cubs to their first World Series title since 1908. He becomes just the sixth player to win rookie of the year and MVP in one or consecutive seasons.

Bryant received 29 first-place votes, and Washington second baseman Daniel Murphy was the runner-up.

While the Angels finished fourth in the AL West, Trout was his usual brilliant self. He batted .315 with 29 homers, 100 RBIs and 30 steals. He scored 17 percent of Los Angeles’ runs, the highest percentage for an AL player since Rickey Henderson with the 1985 New York Yankees.

Trout received 19 of 30 first-place votes. Boston right fielder Mookie Betts was second.

The results of the voting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America were announced Thursday night. Voting was completed by the start of the playoffs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s