Kansas legislators prepare to name leaders for 2017 session

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Kansas lawmakers are preparing to designate their leaders for next year with a new House speaker to be chosen by Republicans.

Legislators re-elected last month were convening Monday with freshmen lawmakers-elect. Republicans and Democrats were to have separate meetings in each chamber after the House and Senate convened.

House Republicans were designating a new speaker because incumbent Ray Merrick of Stilwell did not seek re-election to the Legislature this year.

Vying for the post were Majority Leader Jene Vickrey of Louisburg, Appropriations Committee Chairman Ron Ryckman Jr. of Olathe and Rep. Russ Jennings of Lakin.

The new speaker will serve a two-year term.

Senate President Susan Wagle of Wichita asked fellow GOP senators for another four-year term as leader. But Senate budget chairman Ty Masterson of Andover was challenging her.


Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s