2016 All-Big 12 football awards announced

Courtesy: Big 12 Conference

DALLAS, Tex. – The All-Big 12 Conference football teams and individual award winners have been announced. Selections are made by the league’s 10 head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

All-Big 12 Honors Notebook:
Dede Westbrook garnered Oklahoma’s sixth Offensive Player of the Year Award and second consecutive. Other OU winners include quarterbacks Baker Mayfield (2015), Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000). Westbrook is just the second wideout to claim the award along with Oklahoma State’s Justin Blackmon (2010).

Jordan Willis is the fourth player from K-State to earn Defensive Player of the Year along with linebacker Arthur Brown (2012), defensive back Terence Newman (2002) and linebacker Mark Simoneau (1999). This is the ninth year that a player on the defensive line has been recognized.

Justin Crawford is West Virginia’s second Offensive Newcomer of the Year after running back Charles Sims was honored in 2013. He is the fourth running back to win the award.

D.J. Reed is the sixth K-State player named as Defensive Newcomer of the Year, and the first since Arthur Brown in 2011.

Justice Hill is the third Oklahoma State player and first Cowboy running back to be picked Offensive Freshman of the Year. He is the ninth running back to be chosen for the award.

Reggie Walker is the first K-State player to earn Defensive Freshman of the Year since Terry Pierce won the first award in 2000. He is the third defensive end to be honored.

Michael Dickson is Texas’ first Special Teams Player of the Year. The award was first presented in 2005. He is the fourth player who handles punting duties to win the honor.

Orlando Brown is Oklahoma’s second honoree for Offensive Lineman of the Year, joining Jon Cooper (2008). He is the first sophomore to earn the award since it was first presented in 2006.

K-State’s Jordan Willis was also named Defensive Lineman of the Year joining previous K-State selections Ryan Mueller (2013) and Meshak Williams (2012). Willis is the fifth player to win both defensive lineman and player of the year in the same season.

Bob Stoops (Oklahoma) was recognized as Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year for the sixth time and second consecutive year (2015, 2008, 2006, 2003 and 2000) after leading the Sooners to the first undefeated conference season since round-robin play began in 2011.

Oklahoma has won the most individual awards in the 21-year history of the Big 12 with 35. K-State is second (32), followed by Texas (26), Oklahoma State (19), Baylor (13), Iowa State (11), Texas Tech (8), Kansas (7), TCU (5) and West Virginia (4).

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma, WR, Sr., Cameron, Texas
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jordan Willis, K-State, DE, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.
OFFENSIVE NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Justin Crawford, West Virginia, RB, Jr., Columbus, Ga.
DEFENSIVE NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: D.J. Reed, K-State, DB, So., Bakersfield, Calif.
OFFENSIVE FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Justice Hill, Oklahoma State, RB, Tulsa, Okla.
DEFENSIVE FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Reggie Walker, K-State, DE, Ponchatoula, La.
SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Michael Dickson, Texas, P, So., Sydney, Australia
OFFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: Orlando Brown, Oklahoma, So., Duluth, Ga.
DEFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: Jordan Willis, K-State, DE, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.
CHUCK NEINAS COACH OF THE YEAR: Bob Stoops, Oklahoma (18th season)

2016 All-Big 12 Football First Team
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Baker Mayfield + Oklahoma Jr. Austin, Texas/Texas Tech
RB Joe Mixon Oklahoma So. Oakley, Calif./Freedom
RB D’Onta Foreman * Texas Jr. Texas City, Texas/Texas City
FB Winston Dimel + K-State So. Manhattan, Kan./Manhattan
WR K.D. Cannon ^ Baylor Jr. Mount Pleasant, Texas/Mount Pleasant
WR Allen Lazard Iowa State Jr. Urbandale, Iowa/Urbandale
WR Dede Westbrook * Oklahoma Sr. Cameron, Texas/Blinn CC
WR James Washington^ Oklahoma State Jr. Stamford, Texas/Stamford
TE Mark Andrews ^ Oklahoma So. Scottsdale, Okla./Desert Mountain
OL Kyle Fuller ^ Baylor Sr. Wylie, Texas/Wylie
OL Dalton Risner K-State So. Wiggins, Colo./Wiggins
OL Orlando Brown Oklahoma So. Duluth, Ga./Peachtree Ridge
OL Connor Williams Texas So. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
OL Tyler Orlosky ^ West Virginia Sr. Cleveland, Ohio/St. Edward
PK Cole Netten Iowa State Sr. Ankeny, Iowa/Ankeny
KR/PR Byron Pringle K-State So. Tampa, Fla./Butler CC

Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL K.J. Smith Baylor Jr. Frisco, Texas/Centennial
DL Dorance Armstrong, Jr. * Kansas So. Houston, Texas/North Shore
DL Jordan Willis * K-State Sr. Kansas City, Mo./Rockhurst
DL Vincent Taylor Oklahoma State Jr. San Antonio, Texas/James Madi
DL Josh Carraway + TCU Sr. Flower Mound, Texas/Marcus
LB Elijah Lee ^ K-State Jr. Blue Springs, Mo./Blue Springs
LB Jordan Evans ^ Oklahoma Sr. Norman, Okla./Norman North
LB Travin Howard TCU Jr. Longview, Texas/Longview
DB Fish Smithson ^ Kansas Sr. Baltimore, Md./Highland
DB D.J. Reed K-State So. Bakersfield, Calif./Cerritos College
DB Jordan Thomas ^ Oklahoma Jr. Klein, Texas/Klein
DB Jordan Sterns ^ Oklahoma State Sr. Cibolo, Texas/Steele
DB Rasul Douglas West Virginia Sr. East Orange, N.J./Nassau CC
P Michael Dickson Texas So. Sydney, Australia

2016 All-Big 12 Football Second Team
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Patrick Mahomes II Texas Tech Jr. Whitehouse, Texas/Whitehouse
RB Samaje Perine ~ Oklahoma Jr. Pflugerville, Texas/Hendrickson
RB Justice Hill Oklahoma State Fr. Tulsa, Okla./Brooker T. Washington
FB Dimitri Flowers Oklahoma Jr. San Antonio, Texas/Churchill
WR Jonathan Giles Texas Tech So. Missouri City, Texas/Fort Bend Elkins
WR Shelton Gibson West Virginia Jr. Cleveland Heights, Ohio/Cleveland Heights
WR Daikiel Shorts Jr. West Virginia Sr. Clayton, N.J., Eastern Christian Academy
TE Blake Jarwin ~ Oklahoma State Sr. Tuttle, Okla./Tuttle
OL Nick Fett Iowa State Sr. Audubon, Iowa/Audubon
OL Zach Crabtree Oklahoma State Jr. Mansfield, Texas/Mansfield
OL Victor Salako Oklahoma State Sr. Huntsville, Ala./Grissom
OL Austin Schlottmann TCU Jr. Brenham, Texas/Brenham
OL Kent Perkins Texas Sr. Dallas, Texas/Lake Highlands
PK Ben Grogan Oklahoma State Sr. Arlington, Texas/Martin
KR/PR Dede Westbrook Oklahoma Sr. Cameron, Texas/Blinn CC

Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL Jhaustin Thomas Iowa State Sr. Atlanta, Ga./Columbia
DL Demond Tucker Iowa State Sr. Hazelhurst, Miss./Hazelhurst
DL Jordan Wade Oklahoma Sr. Round Rock, Texas/Stony Point
DL Aaron Curry TCU Sr. Keller, Texas/Nebraska
DL Breckyn Hager Texas So. Austin, Texas/Westlake
LB Ogbonnia Okoronkwo Oklahoma Jr. Houston, Texas/Alief Taylor
LB Chad Whitener Oklahoma State Jr. Mansfield, Texas/Mansfield
LB Ty Summers TCU So. San Antonio, Texas/Reagan
DB Patrick Levels Baylor Sr. Dallas, Texas/Roosevelt
DB Kamari Cotton-Moya Iowa State Jr. Bakersfield, Calif./Ridgeview
DB Tre Flowers Oklahoma State Jr. Converse, Texas/Judson
DB Denzel Johnson TCU Sr. Gainesville, Texas/Gainesville
DB Nick Orr TCU Jr. DeSoto, Texas/DeSoto
P Zach Sinor Oklahoma State So. Castroville, Texas/Medina Valley
+ – Repeat first team selection from 2015
~ – 2015 first team selection
^ – Second Team selection in 2015.
* – Unanimous selection
A tie in voting created an additional wide receiver spot
Players listed at each position alphabetically by school.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s