Trump administration offers a new travel ban

FILE - In this Jan. 28, 2017, file photo a protester holds a sign at San Francisco International Airport during a demonstration to denounce President Donald Trump's executive order that bars citizens of seven predominantly Muslim-majority countries from entering the U.S. The Trump administration announced new restrictions after spending months hashing out the details determined to avoid a repeat of the chaos of Trump’s first travel ban. (AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez, File)

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Trump administration says new measures to restrict immigration are required to keep the nation safe.

President Donald Trump has signed a measure imposing new restrictions on travelers from a handful of countries. And that includes five that were covered by his travel ban that expired Sunday.

The indefinite restrictions apply to citizens of Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen and North Korea. As part of the presidential proclamation, the U.S. will also bar the entry of certain Venezuelan government officials and their immediate families.

The changes will take effect October 18. The announcement Sunday came on the same day that Trump’s temporary ban on visitors from six Muslim-majority countries was set to expire.